Scottish Working Group on Women’s Offending

Information about the Scottish Working Group on Women’s Offending


SWGWO was established at the start of 2011 and comprises a group of organisations and individuals concerned with all issues surrounding women’s offending in Scotland. The group wishes to see true equality for all women across the criminal justice system, and to sharpen the focus of policy makers on those women with mental health and learning disabilities and those women from a background of sexual abuse, addiction and substance misuse, as well as support for their families. The group would ultimately like to see that these women and their families are supported to move away from the criminal justice system towards a healthier future.


In particular the group’s aims are:


  • to address the issues of why women offend;


  • to ensure that the appropriate support is given to women offenders and their families;


  • to work to reduce the numbers of women imprisoned;


  • to reduce the numbers of women throughout the criminal justice system.


To contact SWGWO, please email the administrator on:


Anne Pinkman is the Convenor of SWGWO.

Current Plan of Work

SWGWO’s current plan of work will be to support the Prison Reform Trust and

the Soroptimist International UK Programme Action Committee on their action plan for Women Offenders.

SWGWO is also looking at the implementation of the recommendations from the Angiolini Report and the sustainability of projects fo women offenders.

People and Organisations associated with SWGWO:


  • Alan Staff, Chief Executive Apex Scotland
  • Ann Henderson, Assistant Secretary STUC
  • Anne McKechnie, Consultant Forensic Clinical Psychologist, Women’s Justice Centre, Trauma and Homelessness Team
  • Audrey Howard, Individual Member
  • Beth MacMaster, Glasgow CJA
  • Briege Nugent, HLS
  • Anne Pinkman, Chief Office FFV CJA, Convenor SWGWO
  • Cristina Ayala, Policy and Performance Analyst, Lothian and Borders CJA
  • Donna Bell, Head of Early Years Scottish Government
  • Elaine Stalker, Families Outside
  • Elaine McKenna, Inverclyde Council
  • Gail Hughes, Inverclyde Council
  • Gillian McIvor, Professor in Criminology, University of Stirling
  • Helen Miller, Equality and Human Rights Commission
  • Howard Llewellyn, Chief Officer, Tayside CJA
  • Irene Kitson, Justice of the Peace, Parole Board Member and Howard League Scotland
  • Jill McAfee, CYCJ Strathclyde University
  • Jim Hunter, Chief Officer North Strathclyde Community Justice Authority
  • Justina Murray, Chief Officer, South West Scotland CJA
  • Kirsty Pate, Service Manager Willow Project
  • Linda Robb Bowman, CYCJ Strathclyde University
  • Lisa Mackenzie, Howard League Scotland
  • Liz Dahl, CEO Circle Scotland
  • Margaret Caldwell, Soroptimists Scotland
  • Margaret Mowat, Soroptimists Scotland
  • Margaret Smith , Glasgow CJA
  • Maura Daly, Circle Scotland
  • Heather Meldrum, STUC
  • Michele Burman, Professor & Co-Director SCCJR, University of Glasgow
  • Nancy Loucks, Nancy Loucks Chief Executive Families Outside & Visiting Professor, University of Strathclyde
  • Nico Juetten, Parliamentary Officer & Policy lead on Youth Justice SCCYP
  • Peter Willox, Northern CJA
  • Rhona Morrison, Individual Member
  • Ron Lancashire, SWGWO
  • Rob Strachan, Chief Officer Lothian and Borders CJA
  • Sharon Mercado, Positive Prison? Positive Futures
  • Sharon Stirrat, Sacro
  • Susan Matheson, Honorary Secretary Howard League for Penal Reform in Scotland & Non Executive Board Member SPS
  • Teresa Medhurst, HMP Edinburgh, SPS
  • Tom Jackson, Chief Officer Glasgow CJA
  • Tony McNulty, Chief Officer Lanarkshire CJA
  • Val Vertigans, Information Officer Northern CJA
  • Sara Watkin, Individual Member







Leave a Reply